Drunk drivers cause 29 deaths on average every day, and California is at the forefront when it comes to the number of DUIs by state. While there has been a decrease post-COVID-19 in the DUI rates, areas like Ventura County still have a high rate of DUIs and convictions.
In Ventura, the conviction rates for a DUI hover at around 81%, which means that most people charged with a DUI face punishment over it.
When you’re facing a DUI, you might have no idea what that entails for you. Hiring a Ventura DUI Lawyer can be your best shot at getting away from the whole ordeal without too many consequences.
Different Types of DUIs
When you’ve been slapped with a DUI, the most important thing to assess first and foremost is what type of a DUI you have been charged with. There are various types of DUI, and you could be charged with:
- First DUI Offense: These individuals have never been charged with a DUI and have been caught for violating California Vehicle Code Sections 23152(a) and 23152(b).
- Second DUI Offense: Charged when caught within ten years of receiving the first DUI. Marked as a misdemeanor offense.
- Third DUI Offense: Convicted when charged with two DUIs in the past ten years
- Fourth DUI Offense: This DUI is charged as a felony offense and has profound implications.
- Commercial DUI: Only for those who have commercial licenses
- DUI Under 21: Can be faced with additional penalties and have a lower blood-alcohol threshold
Possible Jail Time
If you are charged with a DUI, you might be looking at possible jail time depending on where in Ventura you are caught and how strong your case is. You could be looking at jail time anywhere from 10 days to several years.
The jail time can be different depending on what kind of DUI you have been charged with. In addition, non-payment of fines or incompletion of other terms can also lead to you landing up in jail.
When you’ve landed your first-ever DUI, or it is still a misdemeanor charge, you might be assigned to do some mandatory community service. In Ventura, for a first-time offender, it can be anywhere from 24 to 50 hours. For repeat offenders, it can be anywhere above 200 hours.
In many cases, your jail time can be waived entirely if you volunteer to do community service instead. It ultimately depends on the lawyer you end up going for and how adept they are in resolving your DUI charge.
Fines or Penalties
Most, if not all DUI charged individuals have to pay the penalty and any additional fines that come along with their DUI charge. It can be as little as $200 for a first-time offender but can end up costing you over $3,000 if you’re a repeat offender.
You will have to pay assessment fines as well, along with the DUI penalties. You might be able to lessen this charge if you have an excellent Ventura DUI Lawyer who can suggest alternative methods to payment while your case is being heard.
Individuals can expect to have their license suspended for at least three months for most DUI cases. However, this can increase depending on the type of DUI you have received. Many people have their licenses revoked for years if they misbehave while their DUI is handed to them.
You might also have an ignition lock on your vehicle if you are a felony offender. To know more about your license suspension, you can consult with an experienced lawyer in Ventura for your DUI.
Protect Yourself with the Help of a Ventura DUI Lawyer
When you want to protect yourself, financially and physically, as much as possible, getting an expert lawyer is essential. Not only will they ensure that you face minor penalties and consequences, but they can also ensure that this process doesn’t take any longer than needed.
Find the right lawyer to get out of your DUI charge successfully, whether you’re a first-time or repeat offender.